Oxford Mail Youth Football League

Oxford Mail Youth Football League history

The League first mooted in the late 1950s and early 1960s by various local clubs in the Oxford area and finally in 1964 the League was born, with Under 12s division, Under 13s division and U14s division. Pioneers of the League included Frank Yeatman (Quarry Rovers), Derek Parker (Marston Saints), Ron Beasley (Rose Hill), Bob Ewers (Northway), Den Colwell (Wood Farm), George Gatt (Fern Hill United), and Fred Hathaway (Fair View).

Incarnations of the League:
1964 - 1990 Oxford Boys League
1990 - 1998 B-Line Boys League
1998 - 2000 Oxford Boys League
2000 - 2013 Oxford Mail Boys League
2013 - present Oxford Mail Youth Football League

Stalwarts of the League committees included:
1970s: Tony Hillsdon Senior (Chairman),Tony Hillsdon Junior (League Secretary), Bernard Parsons (Referees Secretary) and Brian Kemp (League committee member).
1990s: Bill Baker (Chairman) ,Frank Peirson (Secretary), Les Singlton (Referees Secretary) and Committee members included Ken Mort, Howard Pearce, Ken Young, Len Lewis, Roy Grant and Jim Paton who served the League for many years and later became President and a life member of the League.

Notable people who have played in the League include:
Clive Walker (Quarry Rovers) - played for Chelsea,Sunderland and Cheltenham Town.
Garry Parker (Marston Saints) - played for Leicester City, Nottingham Forest and Hull City
Martin Keown (Marston Saints) - played for Arsenal, Everton and England
Mark Wright - played for Oxford United,Southampton and Derby County, and England
Matt Taylor (Quarry Rovers) - played for Luton Town, Portsmouth, Bolton Wanderers, Burnley, West Ham United, Nothampton Town and Swindon Town, and currently Manager of Exeter City
Joey Beauchamp (Summertown Stars) - played for Oxford United and,Swindon Town before rejoining Oxford United
Callum Slattery (Garden City) - Southampton, England U20s
Callum O'Dowda (Kidlington Youth) - Oxford United, Bristol City, Rep of Ireland
Jermain McSporran (Quarry Rovers) - Wycombe Wanderers
Jamie Brooks (Littlemore Boys) - Oxford United
Mark Druce (Kidlington Boys) - Oxford United
Chrissie Allen (Oxford Blackbirds) - Oxford United and Nottingham Forest
Dexter Blackstock (Oxford Blackbirds) - Oxford United, Southampton and Nottingham Forest.

In 2012, after a lot of hard work by Mary Simmonds (Registration Secretary), the League was awarded Charter Standard League status and was presented with its award before the Oxford United v Wycombe Wanderers game on 6th April.
More to follow...


Do you have any information, pictures or memorabilia that you could share to increase the League archives? If so, we would love to hear from you. Please use the contact button to send us any information you may have.